Rocksmith – Learning to play Guitar.

24 03 2016

Late last year I finally did what I had been thinking of doing, for years, but had not, because it seemed silly or superfluous, I didn’t have the cash for it either, so why would I buy something I would probably never use properly?

I bought a Hagstrom Viking P, Electro-Acoustic Guitar, Cherry red.

I’d been talking about it for quite some time, with friends who had either sold guitars earlier in their life, or had played them once, or were playing them now as part of their job description.

I’d started looking around, I didn’t know what I wanted or at least knew that Fenders and Gibsons were way out of reach, as they sold for over $3000.

Knowing next to nothing about Guitars, I thought “Well I want something that looks like a proper electric guitar” found one through Google images, and then sorted through YouTube for a review.

I found Mike Bradley’s review to be very helpful, He said that while it wasn’t a Gibson, that is was almost as good, and a great bang for your buck, as it was a lot cheaper.

Based on that, I bought one, though that was another story, it was difficult, Hagstrom had no retailer in Australia and having it shipped here by anyone, was near to impossible.

Two weeks later I was talking about the Guitar on Facebook, and a friend mentioned Rocksmith, He said that it was a game that taught you how to play the guitar.

Apparently it was like Guitar Hero, which I had dismissed based on the idea that someone had spent their time learning how to play a thing that is a toy, when they could have spent the same amount of energy learning to play a real instrument.

I looked up Rocksmith on YouTube to see what it was, and it seemed to be just what I wanted.

I have particular difficulties getting out and about, so going to a teacher once a week was out of the question, If I could buy this and learn at home, then it might just do the trick.

There were a set of videos that Rocksmith had uploaded about a 60 day challenge, and while that did get me in, the problem with that idea is that if you’re not progressing as the ads suggest, you can end up feeling quite upset with yourself, and I did.

Rocksmith shouldn’t be taken as the ultimate teacher, it simply gets you started, and it’s quite effective there, I did end up playing the guitar for the full 60 days, with a slight drop off at the end because I got discouraged.

It reminds me of the Suzuki method of violin playing, where you are encouraged to play the instrument even if you sound terrible at first… you will improve later on.

I don’t want to be too hard on Rocksmith, most of the problems lay with me rather than the software, you may or may not be like me, and may or may not experience the same problems.

Once loaded up, I was confronted by a list of songs… many of which I didn’t know.

Many seemed to be of the Metal, Indi Rock variety… a genre that didn’t appeal to me in the least, but there were a few (very few) gems in there, and although extras could be downloaded later, there wasn’t much there either.

If you’re a Country fan or a Reggae fan there is nothing there for you at all.

The kind of music I like the most is radio friendly rock, I listen to a 70s – 80s rock station called Gold 104 at home, and while they play a nice range of hits, there’s a lot of stuff that I like that they don’t play.

I grew up at a time when there was a lot of synth pop around, and that is my genre.

Still, there was enough there to get me started, I did enjoy playing Bon Jovi and Def Leppard.

Rocksmith, for those who haven’t seen it, reminds me of an old pianola piano, which are self playing. rather than displaying a bunch of notes, it shows you where your fingers should be going, and this method really does work.

You select a song from a list, the guide scrolls towards you and you play along, and that’s basically it.

After a few months of playing, I found myself listening to songs on the radio and feeling that I knew where the guitarist was playing, as a result my air guitar improved no end.

The only hurdle I hit was that my brain is too slow, or I imagine it is, I can’t shred, and I can’t work out chords… but I can play with one finger.

I cannot physically spread my fingers to play a chord and while people have provided solutions, I know my limits and I cannot progress past it.

A friend suggested playing Bass instead, as there are fewer, if any chords.

But I didn’t want to shell out for another instrument.

Then he said that Rocksmith alters the sound of your guitar for you and lets you pretend that you have a bass guitar.

Well I’ve been trying that, and while not the path I originally wanted to take, I’ve been a lot more successful, and happier.

I recently scored 100% on “Pour Some Sugar On Me” which is a fairly easy tune, but still, considering that a few months ago I knew nothing about guitars, this is quite something.

A while back I felt quite defeated and wanted to give up, and I blame the ads which promised something worthwhile in 60 days… I did initially feel I was heading there, but when the chords started showing up, I hit a brick wall faster than a crash test dummy.

I gave up for weeks, but have now come back, not to beat myself up over my inability, but to give myself a break from social media.

It’s just a toy for me now, but it’s a nice toy to have.

There are people who are using tutorials on YouTube along side Rocksmith, and are going a lot further than I ever will, but it’s just a pastime for me.

For those of you who wanted to play guitar, even a little, Rocksmith will get you there.

Wolfie Rankin

20160324011219_1

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

