Problems with mobile devices

8 02 2015

We love our mobile devices, they’re so very freeing, we don’t have to sit at our desks, they don’t take years to boot up, but, they still lack basic functions which ought to be available.

I recently upgraded to a Galaxy Note Edge, and I have been very happy, I know this because I’ve been using it for weeks, almost forgetting my PC and laptop completely.

But here’s a few thoughts, it’s fucking difficult to hold, firstly it’s super flat which sounds cool in theory, but it’s a cow and a half to hold. I’m sure my hand is getting RSI from holding it by the edge all the time, and I’d like someone to come up with something I could slide my hand into, so I can hold it better. I got a Verus case for it, it’s brilliant, it has given me slightly more grip, and a similar case saved my iphone numerous times, but something so I could really hang onto it (and not drop it) would be extremely helpful.

And now Samsung is thinking of releasing a newer phone with two curved edges, instead of just a single curved edge, like I have on my current phone, that’s going to be murder to hang on to.

Editing is also very difficult on phones.

I’m often on social media and have thoughts which I might type out on Facebook and want to add to Twitter, and yet the official Twitter app does not allow any copy and paste functions, Come on, WTF?

And when I am allowed to copy, yes I can do it from the Facebook app, selecting all the text is not easy, get to the top of the screen and I can never quite get all the text highlighted, that’s frustrating and needs work.

And this is something that I’ve been after for a long time, not only for phones but for the PC too.

Why is copying files to folders so damn complicated?

If I see a photo on a website that I want to keep, it’s a matter of right clicking, choosing “save”, finding the exact folder I want, and saving it there.

Why can’t we just grab the photo with our mouse, drag it to the side of the screen and drop it into a handy recent folders popup? (recent or pre-chosen) I think something similar would work on the phone too.

Wolfie Rankin (Who is currently writing some fiction and needs encouragement)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

