Follow me.

26 06 2014

I’ve been thinking of this for a while, and I think that I might be right, not that I consider myself a guru of social media, but I suspect this is how things work.

Imagine your social network as a chat show, and you’re the host of this show.

Most of your followers are like home viewers, they turn the TV on and are happy
to watch, but they generally don’t contribute to the show.

* Those who are new to social media sometimes find the idea of silent followers “creepy” but they are just a silent audience who enjoy the show.

The next stage up, are your studio audience. They enjoy your show, and are happy to sit quietly and watch, and will sometimes ask a question, or tell you something interesting. They may even get involved with an idea now and then, their faces will be familiar, but you’ll rarely hear from them.

Going up another notch are your regular guests, they might be monthly, weekly or daily guests. they’re the familiar faces who love to have a conversation with you fairly often, and it’s these people who help your show along, since you cannot run a show alone, and really, who’d want to?I’ve found that I have a large amount of followers, but although I am happy to chat with anyone, mostly only speak with my regulars.As a communicator, I don’t see Twitter as the numbers game that many people do, I’d much prefer interaction, but there’s nothing wrong with having 24K happy followers.

 

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

