Katie and I

24 09 2013

I’m considering everything that was done for Katie.

I rarely left her, and when I did, she was always safe inside the house, and four times she went to a kennel, just for a few days
when I was either on holiday or at hospital.

Katie had good food and fresh water every day, and had a big walk each day, unless I wasn’t well or the weather was too hot or cold, or wet.

The walks helped me recover too, and am grateful to her for that.

She wanted me to buy her a soft bed, she saw them at the local shops and so I got her one.

She took sick at one point and had a big operation, which she recovered from and probably had an extra five years of life as a result.

She hurt her eyes several times, and had an operation on one, and ongoing medication on the other.

Her teeth were bad, mostly because she chewed through a fence to possibly escape from her former owners, and to escape into the neighbours yard because I was there.

Katie was with me, the day I lost Mum.

She went to a friends farm twice, and twice to the beach, she loved that.

Katie loved furries, and adored Marko and Davids suits, and wanted one of Markos paws.

She was always the first person I would consider whenever I made any plans at all, and I would always prefer to stay here with her, than go out anywhere… unless she could go too.

She was my support dog, perhaps not officially, but I couldn’t have done much without her, she was very special.

I think she was the most loyal dog I’ve ever had, if she wasn’t at my side, she was completely depressed… and that’s saying something, because the last two I had, Benny and Laddie were exceptionally loyal too.

Katie was a rescued dog, had I not taken her in, then she may have been put down in 2005, simply because she was unwanted.

But she was wanted, and she wanted me, Her companionship and love was just magic, and I’d be very lucky if I ever had that again.

I will try this last effort to keep her going, because if I don’t, I will forever wonder if it might’ve worked, and I don’t want to be looking back to this time, thinking If only I tried harder, I would have had her a bit longer.

If she survives this, and has a peaceful life here at home, if she can eat and drink, and get up and go outside when she needs to, then I will keep up her medications and continue to look after her, I am proud of her, she is an honoured member of this house, she is my family, and I will give her as much love and comfort as she needs.

But if she doesn’t respond, then I’ve decided that I will let her go.

Katherine was without a doubt, one of the greatest things that ever happened to me, and I will love her dearly, for the rest of my life.

Actions

Information

5 responses

24 09 2013
cordannao

I think of Katie all the time and reading this chokes me up. Hang in there Wolfie because she will pull through is she can. Katie would love you as much as you love her and in my heart I know she will give it her best shot to get home and sleep at your feet. Hold onto that love. XXXX hugs Coralie.

24 09 2013
Jo Barnes (@Jo_Barnes)

*HUGS* Wolfie. Saying Goodbye to Wodger was one of the hardest things Ive had to do ever. He was my saviour to, so I understand how important Katie has been to your life. I hope she picks up and spends some more time with you.

24 09 2013
Billy

So beautifully and honestly written. She was much loved. That shines through. xo

25 09 2013
mmckenzie

This is so sad. I have a very old dog that I feel the same about, she is my heart and soul. I empathise with you.

28 11 2013
Tracy Sorensen (@Squawkingalah)

Sorry, I’ve only just realised that you lost your magnificent Katie. I never knew her in person but she was a beautiful dog.

Leave a Reply

