Routed

23 03 2013

I thought about power being wasted recently, and considered that my router is on when I sleep, and I don’t need it when I sleep.

Yes I could just manually switch it off each night, but I’d probably forget, so I went out and bought a digital timer, which will turn it off, while I’m likely to be asleep, and on again the next day when I am.

But I wondered, The timer is using power too so,  am I using more power than I’m saving?

How much power does a router use anyway?

Apart from saving power, turning off the router now and then is quite a good idea.

It’s strange, but a lot of people think they’re not allowed to turn the router off once it has been installed, but there’s a few reasons why it’s not a bad idea.

1. It saves power when it’s not in use, so switch it off at the wall now and then.

2. Nobody can steal your wi-fi when your router is switched off.

3. Sometimes your wi-fi can get a bit flaky, Switching your router off and on will generally reset your wi-fi signal and you’ll get better performance. NOTE: It’s best to turn your wi-fi off on your computer, or re-start your computer after switching your router off and on.

But back to my timer, I suspect that it uses less power than the analog type with the revolving disc which clicks as it operates, this one has an LCD clock in it which was operating while it was in the shop, and I suspect it uses a lot less power than the Router.

So, I’m iffy about it, will I save any power at all? not sure.

Could Routers be built with something to wake them up on detection of a familiar computer? and then go to sleep when all familiar devices are off?

Wolfie!

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

24 03 2013
tardis42

In short, no, a router doesn’t use enough power to make turning it off worthwhile. A few watts max. Turning off your lights and/or switching to Fluoro or LED lights will save *much* more power.

24 03 2013
Wolfie Rankin

Thankyou 🙂

I do use Flouro lights, and would like to use LED once they become standard. (I do have LED night lights).

Well, maybe I could use the timer for something else.

24 03 2013
mnemonic67

There is a power board by Jackson which is a Master/Slave board.

In your master socket you plug your PC tower into and in the slave sockets you plug your monitor, Wi-fi, Router, printer etc into.

There is also one normal socket for something that must stay on.

When you power down your PC tower it turns off the power to your slave sockets. When you power up your PC tower it enables power to the slave sockets.

Check them out through ji.com.au

Leave a Reply

