Feminism 2012

13 10 2012

When stories about Julia Gillard giving Tony Abbott a good telling off, hit the local news, they were all negative.

Well of course, most of the media is owned by right wing organisations, it was expected.

But what the local media wasn’t prepared for, was that the story would go global, and when the news overseas got hold of the story, they wrote it as they saw it, without the right-wing spin.

Julia was just a mad woman on a crusade against “a good man” as our papers made out.

That wasn’t how most of us saw it.

I typed “Gillard” into the search box in Tweetdeck, a desktop app for Twitter, and what I saw were thousands of people, thousands, congratulating Julia for standing up for herself, and women in general.

And I get the feeling that the local media is beginning to back down, as I’m starting to see stories suggesting that maybe, Julia was right, as she was!

I think feminism has been re-started this October, in Australia.

And it’s been given a make-over.

Feminism, had a poor image, Dowdy Women in overalls who hate men is the image which comes to my mind.

Women don’t want to hate Men, they want equality.

And that’s what they ought to have.

I want to see it happen, I want Women to have equal pay, and to be treated with respect.

I’m sure you know from what I’ve written earlier that I’m a great fan of equality, I am a white Aussie bloke, who wants to see more fairness on this planet, for everyone.

It’s 2012, Racism, Sexism, Homophobia and all that nonsense, simply shouldn’t be happening anymore.

Wolfie!

Read Mike Carltons’ excellent story, which is similar to mine, but a much better read.

Actions

Information

One response

3 01 2013
730reportland

Did you notice Joolya and Mr-Rabbit united later that day to cut single mothers welfare payments?

Leave a Reply

