Football

29 09 2012

Today I walked into Bakers Delight while shopping.

The lovely Woman behind the counter, who’s always cheerful, asked me if I would be watching the game.

I questioned her,  “The game?”

“The AFL” She said, and then it clicked, I was completely oblivious to it, Football means nothing to me at all.

As with most people, I began to find out about sport, when I was just a kid, and it seemed to me that everyone barracked for a team.

The question was always “Which team do you barrack for” not “Do you like football?”

I never had a team, I could have made one up, (some did, it made conversation easier) but I tended to be the honest sort.

My parents weren’t into footy, so I wasn’t brainwashed into it like so many other kids, I was allowed to think for myself, and after consideration, taking into my brain that playing footy would give me the opportunity to chase a ball, while wearing hardly anything, in freezing weather, being pushed into mud, having bits of my anatomy broken, and potential coma and/or death,  I decided it wasn’t for me, it must’ve taken me ten seconds to work it out.

But I’m not even interested in watching it, I just don’t see anything in it.

So word began to spread that I didn’t like football, and it seemed that I wasn’t into any other sport either.

And people talked, you know, because I was “weird”.

I think conversation went along these lines “He doesn’t like sport… must be a poofta”.

So here was I at the age of ten, being called a poof, and I had no idea what it meant.

So thankyou football for giving me a reputation, I did try to live up to it in later years.

I was born and raised in Melbourne, in case you’re wondering, and I was ten in 1975.

Attitudes have certainly changed, I don’t think there’s nearly as much homophobia around today, and there are many people around, who, like me, simply couldn’t give a toss.

Perhaps I’m a trend setter?

Wolfie!

Actions

Information

4 responses

29 09 2012
730reportland

A Wolfie Chasing a ball ? .. Nah, thats more of a `puppy` type of thing.

29 09 2012
Wolfie Rankin

Even as a puppy, it didn’t appeal to me.

1 10 2012
rouschel

I tell people I’m into Sumo Wrestling. It tends to stop the conversation dead on it’s heels 🙂

1 10 2012
Wolfie Rankin

Beautiful, love it.

Leave a Reply

