Sweet like chocolate

3 09 2012

I’m slightly bothered by something, not because it’s bad, but because it’s weird.

And I’m writing this because although it’s likely that it’s happened to others, it’s rather unlikely that anyone else has opened up about it before.

A warning to those of a delicate disposition, this post may “squick you out”, to the rest of you, I’m doing this for science.

You would mostly be aware (via posts here) that I had bowel cancer, had the tumor removed, and had follow-up treatments.

You are also quite likely to be aware that I had an ileostomy, a bag, sort of like a colostomy, which was temporary (I had it for five years), which was finally removed a couple of years ago.

Well here’s the awkward truth.

My farts and indeed my poo, often, not always, but often, smells like a mix of coffee, chocolate and biscuits.

That’s right, poo is supposed to smell bad, it’s supposed to smell… like poo.

But mine smells…. nice.

Sweet, and fragrant.

It’s wrong, what’s happening?

It’s not all the time, sometimes things do smell terrible, but often I leave the lavatory leaving the room smelling something like coffee and chocolate.

I had wondered, had I simply become used to how utterly awful the ileostomy output was? believe me, you haven’t lived until you’ve smelt the contents of those things. “putrid” is the right word.

Poo would come in at about six points on the stench-o-meter, but ileostomy waste is a good ten.

But then I had it for five years, so perhaps I simply got used to it.

I have noticed this sweet smell quite a lot recently, I wonder what it is?

Also, I do not live on coffee and chocolate, I have two cups a day at most.

Wolfie!

Actions

Information

4 responses

3 09 2012
DystopiConvert

That was more funny than anything..

3 09 2012
Wolfie Rankin

It is funny, but real all the same… hoping for an answer.

4 09 2012
rouschel

I have heard that from other bowel cancer survivors. I am not sure if it is the way that the cancer changes how the bowel functions, thus changing what the poo is made of or how it is made. It can also be a symptom that you have too much sugar in your body or have pre-diabetes. A simple blood sugar test will rule those things out. I am not sure what kinds of treatments you had for your bowel cancer (chemo, radiation) but that may have effected the way your bowels process things as well, changing the smell of your poo a little.

4 09 2012
Wolfie Rankin

I have had those thoughts too, I had chemo and radiation, both were very hard on my system.

Leave a Reply

