Scary digital photos.

15 02 2012

If you’re like me, you love your digital photos.

They’re genuinely instant, which allows me to take another shot if something isn’t quite right.

I can take them home and process them further in photoshop, to make them look as nice as possible and then I can upload them to Flickr, 500px or Twitter and get comments on my work from all around the world.

BUT.

They also scare the crap out of me.

While a box brownie photo could sit in the bottom of your grannies undies drawer for centuries (ok, I exaggerate) an entire hard drive of your most wonderful photos could simply implode at the drop of a hat.

Backups, yes, backups.

We’re dealing with terrabytes of information now, I also make movies, and some are in HD which takes up a lot more space.

Am I forced to backup backups to make incredibly sure that nothing vanishes? It seems so.

I bought a WD 1TB External drive last year, with assurances that it was a worthy brand, well it’s not like it gets heaps of use. I drag it out and connect it up at backup time and add files to it.. at least I was, until a few nights ago when something didn’t quite work right… and so, feeling those butterflies in my stomach, I began to backup to another… older drive.

Sure enough, I began to see CRC errors popping up.

Two were photos (which did manage to copy to another drive oddly enough).

I have since started a lengthy copy and hope process from that drive to another newer external drive.

When I take photos or make films, I want them to last for decades, like the ones from my film cameras have.

I really hate backing up to DVD or CD, but perhaps it’s the most stable way to back up all my self-made stuff.

How do you handle it?

Wolfie!

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

