TARDIS Builders Australia

16 11 2011

I have a strange and possibly stupid idea in my head where I want to build a TARDIS, no, not a toy one… a big one, an authentic Matt Smith “Police Box”.

I intend to keep it in my house and have it be a point of interest, and also a useful article.

Although I’ve never built a damn thing in my life, I’d like to try, although I have severe reservations about doing so.

One of the things which would be nice to try, is to make it from good, recycled timber, which I hope would be cheaper, as I don’t have much to spend.

Yes, Money is tight… but perhaps if I learn how to do this, perhaps I can then apply what I’ve learnt so that I can fix up bits of my house.

Also, I want a fun vibe in my house, why shouldn’t a home have a fun vibe?

I have created a group for this called TARDIS Builders Australia.

It exists as a Google Group and a G+ Group.

If you’d like to join, and read the bits and pieces I find from others who have tackled it… Yes others have done it… or to watch videos, on Police Boxes etc, join me… Perhaps something wonderful can end up getting done.

Wolfie!

E-mail tardis-builders-australia@googlegroups.com

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 05 2012
Peter Fagan

Hi Wolfie – after talking with you at the ABC sandbox in ’07 I find you tweeting at the brilliant Holly Johnson and on your blog? building TARDISes, no less.

I highly recommend http://tardisbuilders.com, there’s a stack of reference material in there, it’s just sat behind registration to be visible. I’m PeterTheta in Twitter, that board and SL but haven’t been in the latter two for a while. Most of my hobby time goes into http://beeblebroxcompany.org these days.

Good reads on many subjects in your blog – I certainly share your views on a lot of them. Take care!

– Pete

24 05 2012
Wolfie Rankin

Hi There Peter, Nice to hear from you.

The TARDIS thing was a passing fancy, it never got off the ground, and I really didn’t expect it to.

But yes, I’ve been chatting to some amazing people on Twitter and love it 🙂

I’ll stick to writing, joining wood together is probably not my thing 🙂

Wolfie!

Leave a Reply

