My ABC

8 11 2011

A few years ago, I volunteered to help ABC manage their Second Life Island, Now I’m not going into detail about Second Life, Just think of it as another social network.

What I found were a creative group of people who were considerate and who would listen to any ideas we had, It was a bold experiment, which sometimes worked and sometimes didn’t… but it was fun.

Granted there was also some frustrating red tape, but I can excuse that because here’s an Old Media company, who were, and still are, giving New Media a seriously good go and That impresses Me.

I have recently met a lot more ABC people on twitter, and generally, most of them are friendly and keen to chat, and I like that a lot.

What surprised me is that despite my Furry persona, I have been accepted.

I think that’s because those who work at ABC are from so many diverse backgrounds themselves, that difference is not shunned, but welcomed, as it really should be.

I think ABC feels less like a corporation, and more like a club of dedicated individuals, (despite “corporation” being their ‘c’ word.)

Anyway, I’d like to raise a glass of cider to friends at ABC, Thankyou for your warmth, kindness and understanding.

Cheers!

Wolfie!

Actions

Information

8 responses

8 11 2011
frandi

Wolfie, would you hold it against me if I told you that you had spelt “fiery” wrong above. I know because I am of a fiery disposition given my genetic makeup (that’s my story and I’m sticking to it). I still love you though.

8 11 2011
Wolfie Rankin

I couldn’t recall typing that, but a spelling mistake is typical of me…. But, No that’s “Furry”.

Furries are people who describe themselves as half animal types, and the penny drops!

Yes, I’m definitely a Furry.

But Fiery?, I can be I suppose, But I would mostly like to think I’m pretty laid back… which I’m doing right now… laying back in bed, on this hot evening. Bet there are more storms on the way.

9 11 2011
Junkshop Coyote (@junkshop_coyote)

I’ll bet you could manage an impressive flame. 😉

9 11 2011
Wolfie Rankin

Perhaps, but I use my powers for good, instead of evilnessness.

8 11 2011
Bridgesburning Chris King

How fortunate to have worked for a company like that….every creative person’s dream!

9 11 2011
Wolfie Rankin

I haven’t worked for them, but I do support them.

9 11 2011
Junkshop Coyote (@junkshop_coyote)

I had to read that part twice about “corporation” being their “C-word.” I thought at first you meant one wasn’t supposed to say it in the ranks, like, um, see-you-next-Tuesday.

9 11 2011
Wolfie Rankin

C-word as in A, B and C, with a touch of innuendo for a chuckle.

Leave a Reply

