Microchip Wolfie

14 09 2011

I once said that I’d never do anything to my dogs that I wouldn’t do to myself, and this might be the craziest idea I’ve ever had… but it could possibly the best too.

Let me explain.

I was thinking of getting Wolfie, that is, Me, Microchipped.

I have wondered what it would be like to go through the process of being microchipped and of having a chip inside me.

Will the process hurt, they say it doesn’t hurt, but… does it?
(I should add that I have a very low threshold of pain, no tattoos for me).

Does the chip move around in the body, or does it stay in one place?

Is it uncomfortable?

Will it be itchy?

Will it cause any nasty side-effects?

Apart from the experimental side, I could make the whole thing much more interesting, as in, turn it into a fund raiser.

Somehow a “Get Wolfie Microchipped” charity is started, where money is donated. Some of the funds go towards the purchase of the chip and the procedure, The remainder is split between “The Lost Dogs Home” and “The Lort Smith Animal Hospital” which are two very worthy charities.

Permission would have to be granted from Central Animal Records To register Wolfie as a Werewolf.

And a doctor would need to do the procedure, probably at The Lort Smith Animal Hospital if possible, where a cheque could be handed over.

This was all thought up in the shower ten minutes ago, so yes, it needs work and ideas.

Wolfie!

Actions

Information

5 responses

15 09 2011
Junkshop Coyote (@junkshop_coyote)

That den of inspiration, the bathroom, strikes again! Ha! I get my very best ideas there.

15 09 2011
Wolfie Rankin

Yes, Washing dishes seems to do it too for some reason.

15 09 2011
marysfarmreport

Dear Wolfie,
I am a professional dog breeder; Mini-Schnauzers and Havanese. I just invested in the Micro-Chip kit. About $500USD it comes with 25 applications. If you can get a Vet to do this for you. I would love to know how you and your body reacts to the proceedure. I could send you one of mine but then you would be registered to me in Oroville, Ca. 🙂

Love,
Mary

15 09 2011
Wolfie Rankin

Hi Mary, Oh no, We couldn’t have Wolfie owned by someone ;).

What I’ve heard, (I put a link to this story on my Google+ page and got comments there too), is that using these chips on people, is illegal in this country, as they haven’t passed certain health and safety tests. That said, If you buy them yourself, which is possible, and have a skilled tattooist (body modification) expert do it for you, then what can anyone do about it?

I would doubt that a charity would like to be connected to anything dubious, therefore I think the best thing would be to have the chip built into a pendant, it would still work normally even though it isn’t under the skin.

I agree, it would be interesting to hear from someone who has already done this, they are out there… Some use the chips as a form of ID to log into their computers.

I’d be happy to wear that.

16 09 2011
Walter Ringtail

Well if you ever get lost we could track you down, could be a problem if you’re hiding though!

Leave a Reply

