The FreeSpace Policy

20 03 2011

This is just a thought, as you know I have many, and this one is for Facebook users.

Now those of you who are friends with me at Facebook, know that I don’t accept gifts or game invitations, and every once in a while I have to mention this to a new friend, and I know there are those of you who also do this.

Some might ask, if we’re on Facebook, why don’t we want to play facebook games? and that’s fair enough.

We prefer to use Facebook as a means of communication between friends and family, and we don’t have time for, or even like, games.

To us, Facebook is a kind of mini-blog, and we want to keep it neat.

The problem is that we have to explain to new friends about how we feel, and well, it’s a bit awkward.

What we probably need is an easier way to show others what goes, and what doesn’t.

We could have a “FreeSpace logo”, there isn’t one yet, as one of our photos, which would clue people in, or add it to our profile picture which should also work.

A what?

A FreeSpace logo on a Facebook page means… No Games, Apps or Virtual Gifts accepted.

Perhaps we’d need to explain what FreeSpace is now and then, but we could just drop a link to the FreeSpace Facebook Page which would explain what it’s about, without awkward explanations.

That may come if this sounds like it might be adoptable, I’m not sure at the moment.

In a perfect world, Facebook would have a setting which would allow us to switch off all of that, but it doesn’t…
and this almost lead me to abandoning Facebook all together, however, once I began to ask people to please not send these things to me, they listened, so if Facebook won’t do it, I reckon the community will.

Wolfie!

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 03 2011
bridgesburning

You are so dead on with this one!

20 03 2011
Sally

That is a bloody brilliant idea. I hate my feed filling up with all the games and app dross.

20 03 2011
Geordie

Really intriguing idea Wolfie, but I wonder if it isn’t a bandaid solution? Facebook’s revenue model is predicated on as many people doing as much “stuff” on Facebook as possible, to generate information so that ads can be targeted effectively. This means that Facebook is never going to be a really good way of just keeping in touch with friends and family, it’s always going to put pressure on for more “stuff” – organised crime games and virtual farms and sending each other collectable fish. I like Diaspora for this reason, it’s JUST the keeping in contact with people that Facebook originally was, but I wonder if that won’t eventually go the same way if it achieves the popularity Facebook did, or a need to make money to pay for itself. I’ve sometimes wondered if it’d be possible to make some sort of web application that automatically blocks basically every Facebook app.

20 03 2011
Wolfie Rankin

I want to be on Diaspora, I originally signed up but something went wrong, I can’t get a new password and I can’t seem to sign up for a new account. I do really want to try it out.

Leave a Reply

