Our Memory of the old House.

15 03 2011

Last night I came up with an unusual idea, which I tried and found to be quite interesting and I’d like you to try it and see how it goes.

Firstly, it’s best if you’ve known another house or flat, or a time before yours had been heavily renovated, or perhaps it’s a relatives house.

What matters most of all is that you know this house intimately, you know where various day-to-day objects were kept, and probably used them fairly often.

So get yourself very comfortable, and rest, don’t rush this.

Think of walking into the home and walking around, and examining parts of it… what is next to the phone?, what sort of plant is that?, what’s that mark on the wall, the sticky tape adhered to, what do you see when you open the door under the sink?, what’s that bit of string? the brand name on the toilet bowl?.

Now I’ve only used those as a guide, wander this house in your mind, and take your time to examine the bits and pieces, and you may find something you haven’t thought of in years.

This exercise is not to remember large things, such as sofas or paintings, but tiny things which made the home unique, such as a mark or scratch on the old TV.

If you see anything interesting, I’d like to know, it doesn’t have to be about anything that important.

Wolfie!

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 03 2011
B454n7

I quite like the thought. I have lived in a flat and my own house in Sydney before moving to Melbourne. Oddly enough, I can “see” my flat in my mind, but don’t remember much of my house: the latter being the secon-last place I lived in before I moved over. the flat is one I remember the most about even though I didn’t own it. I shall try iyour idea later, and give you a feedback.

16 03 2011
Coralie

I working on this one Wolfie, I’ve lived in so many places, homes, houses that it really is going to tax my mind. Will get back to you.

Leave a Reply

