I’m Blue.

11 06 2010

I finally decided to try Blue Mars, after some coaxing by a couple of friends, but alas my experience was not a good one.

After logging into Blue Mars, looking something like a drugged zombie, I stood there and couldn’t move my camera,
obviously I had a bit to learn and was quite happy to spend some time with it, Secondlife took a while to master too.

I couldn’t move my camera, but was told that it was controlled by the right mouse button and scroll wheel by some helpful
volunteers on the island. It’s always good to find real people who will help, so this at least was a plus and I thank them for
trying.

Walking is controlled in a very awkward manner where a small blue marker
is dropped on the ground, the avatar walks towards it and stops.

Now I have a reasonable computer and a fair internet speed, but if this
was SL, I would have called for an island restart, it felt like walking
through a pool of maple syrup.

Another problem was a big sign which was stuck on my screen like a HUD,
it blocked about half of my view, and although I was advised to upgrade
to flash 10, and did so, the sign remained and could not be removed.

After about the third relog in less than 20 minutes, the problem remained.

And in the time it took me to walk just a few meters… the marker on the ground does
not always set… I could have checked ABC Island and Eragon in SL, flying and walking freely around them.

The regulars suggested that I buy a better computer and get faster internet speed, my computer isn’t that old and tired,
I can happily edit HD video on it, and Secondlife works like a charm, my internet speed isn’t too shabby either.

I wasn’t about to go out and spend big bucks just so I could use this rather awkward looking virtual space, Secondlife may have it’s problems, but Bluemars was just asking far too much of a person, I shut it down, most likely for good.

Wolfie!

Actions

Information

One response

16 06 2010
gwen dowling

thanks. Wolfie. A wee bit scary as I have an ex government computor and about to purchase a back up computor, $75 + postage for pensioners , delivered throughout Aust, from INFOXCHANGE tel 0394187400 greenpc.com.au
They are equipt with Windows etc.

Leave a Reply

