The Sneer

11 03 2010

I have no axe to grind, I was bought up on 80’s pop, Thomas Dolby, Thompson Twins, Kate Bush, Pet Shop Boys, Duran Duran, Culture Club… and I loved, and adored all of them, and I still do.

What I see a lot of is that whenever the eighties are mentioned, there’s the sneer, the “I must not look as if I actually like eighties music so I’ll make a face or my friends will think I’m a goose”. I’ve seen it everywhere, including Spicks and Specks, which really ought to know better.

Frankly I gag at most music that came out post-eighties, not all of it, but the magic never really returned for me.

I may add more to this post, but I’m starving right now and there’s a chicken pie heating up slowly in the oven, yes I could have used the microwave but all the flavour and crispy paste would have been chucked out the window, I hate microwave ovens, they’re only good for heating milk, melting butter, defrosting something.

Excuse me for being crotchety, but I’m hungry… I’d eat almost anything right now, including the cat, who is notably absent.

Back later.

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 03 2010
Luke

So J from Dinosaur Jr was not your cup of tea?

12 03 2010
Wolfie Rankin

Mmm… Not really.

Leave a Reply

