Little monster

7 04 2012

“It’s harmless” was the mantra for religion, it was the bottom line in this family for the reasons for marching kids off to sunday school.

Except it wasn’t harmless.

I lacked a lot of self confidence, and I found religion made it all the more difficult for me, and with the bullies I endured at school, did I really need one extra reason to feel ashamed of myself, or lesser than I felt that I was?

Undoing what religion did to my mind, took years. and mind you, I was never all that religious either… but it was here, in the home, sort of hiding in corners.

Now and then it would sort of leap out at me at unexpected times, or drift past like an almost unnoticed fart.

To untie all those knots and crawl ever so slowly out of that took time.

I didn’t spring out of bed one morning and run down the street in my undies, yelling that I was an atheist.

And with that personal experience, I can’t expect anyone else to either, although what tends to take others days, takes years with me, or seems to.

I suppose because I’ve had to do so much on my own, and never had a mentor or guide to show me the way.

If religion was harmless, then it wouldn’t be getting in the way of making decisions about big issues, such as climate change, same sex marriage and birth control. but it does get in the way.

And playing with the notion that God exists but Climate Change doesn’t is simply playing with fire, and that’s dangerous to us all.


Actions

Information

One response

7 04 2012
Jonathan Brisby

Thinking of the little monster:

All my life I believed in a book called the Bible laws, the day that the priest who baptized me I found out doing something with a brother’s innocence lost forever to witness a member of the Catholic church committing sin.

But the worst was that was asked me to keep this secret, my conscience told me that no matter the threat, always tell the truth. Now I believe in dragons that always have protected and guided me in life.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

